Abby Kurth, Clinical Nutritionist

My Story

lotus_logo_250

Working for my father in his medical practice prompted me to begin thinking about working as a health care practitioner. I decided to major in biology in college toward that end. A book I read during that time really fascinated me – it talked about the use of nutrients in large doses and the changes that were seen in people with mental illness. Thus began an interest in nutrition that prompted me to complete my senior independent study in that area, and also to obtain a Master’s Degree in Public Health from the University of Texas Health Science Center.

The real call to how I would work in the health field came when I became ill in 1985. I vowed to go to a doctor a day to find out what was happening to me, but they all said there was nothing they could do for me. I realized I would need to find my own answers and began studying homeopathy, nutrition, and other holistic therapies. My health improved and I found the answers I needed to overcome my chronic illness. Oftentimes our own challenges are what spur us to try to help others with the same difficulty, thus began my desire to be a natural health care practitioner.

Wanting to understand the whole person – body, mind, and spirit – I worked toward my Master’s of Science in Nutrition degree at the University of the Incarnate Word and also began many years of intensive Bible study. I continued to study homeopathy, eventually completing a three year diploma program taught by the faculty of Vancouver Homeopathic Academy. In 1991 I became certified as a Clinical Nutritionist through the International and American Association of Clinical Nutritionists.

My greatest frustration is that people don’t understand what true health is – they settle for so much less. If you’re reading this, you are someone who is interested in improving your or a family member’s health. I would be happy to help you along your path to healing.

Leave a Reply

